Challenge Accepted!

We all have those junctions in life where we are faced with a new life path, you can see only a short distance down the path and you have to make your decision based on that small window, challenging…

My first major challenge came when I was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes, it was the 3rd of March 2000, that moment standing in the kitchen on the phone listening to the Doctor say ‘You have Diabetes’, I was presented with 3 possible pathways.

Fight, Flight or death.

Right-path-in-life-Lifes-purpose

Thankfully after a short period of thinking about the 3rd option, I decided to go with Fight – Challenge Accepted Mother..Nature, bring it. I was not that enthusiastic then but you get the picture.

15 years later and T1D is still throwing challenges my way, I respond with a glove across its face “Challenge Accepted” every time.

But there is one big challenge that I am still going with and I do not think there will be an end to this challenge, however I enjoy it non the less, this challenge involves something that unfortunately many T1D’s do not want to take on because of the fear of severe Hypoglycaemia and possible death from it…I am talking about keeping active, playing sports, getting your heart racing and feeling athletic!!

Not only have a kept active my whole T1D life but I have constantly improved, in September last year I achieved my 3rd Dan Black Belt in Taekwondo, in 2013 I cycled around 400km in a 24 hour period from Karratha to Broome, I have completed the 160km Ride to Cure Diabetes many times, just 2 weeks ago I completed a 50km mountain bike race which entailed 1075m of climbing and next year I have taken on the challenge of not only completing the 160km Ride to Cure Diabetes but also tackling the 2 optional hill climbs of Menglers Hill (~2km climb at 8% incline – twice!).

DSC_2724

2 days ago I completed some athletic testing at UWA to determine my overall athletic fitness, VO2 max and various other things and in 6 years I have increased my athletic ability quite substantially, so you see there is nothing to fear really, it is all in our mind.

If you are a Type 1 Diabetic and have been struggling to get active due to fear of what your body and your blood sugars are going to do, then I challenge you to start getting active today, start small and work your way up, like every day life with T1D there is trial and error, exercise is no different BUT you just have to take that step and say…

CHALLENGE ACCEPTED! – and remember, you are not alone…


In January 2016 I will be completing the annual JDRF Ride to Cure Diabetes, myself and 300 other cyclists do this to raise needed funding to find a cure for Type 1 Diabetes and end the suffering of millions, please help me and my team by visiting our everyday hero page and pledging your support, whether it be $2 or $200, every dollar matters!

https://jdrf-ride-2016.everydayhero.com/au/kyle

Author: My Lazy Pancreas

I am me.... I am also a Type 1 Diabetic who loves to be active, some call me crazy, some call me an Athlete but I just love to cycle and share experiences of living well with Type 1 Diabetes...

One thought on “Challenge Accepted!”

Leave a comment